Apple bar – the restaurant at the end of the universe

I know, I know, it’s a bit of a schlep to get all the way out to Bilpin just to dine, but believe me, both the drive and the eating are well worth it! Apple bar is named a little oddly, in that, yes it does have a bar, (quite a wee one), but it is (justifiably) famous as a restaurant. It is a cute little old-cottage-type house set on a long sweeping road lined with huge fir trees and jacarandas, quite literally in the middle of nowhere.

For a quick guide on how to get there and things to do on the way, check out my first post about Bilpin itself, for now I have to concentrate on this haven of culinary delights!! Yeah, I know that’s a bit excessive but I only write about places I really enjoy and this is one of them. Once you finish gawking at the scenery and go inside you’ll find it a quirky mix of rustic shearers shed and sophisticated chic.

The open kitchen idea I quite like, as well as the cool life-size metal statues lurking around…they are done by a local artist.

Being up in the mountains there is usually a cool breeze coming in through the shutters, there is also a stone double-sided fireplace which makes it cosy and atmospheric in Winter.

This is the view from the side verandah

This is the view from the verandah that wraps around the side and back of the building, if it’s a nice day you can eat out there and take in the view.

OK…I’ve exhausted all my scenic photos… now about the important bit, the food…firstly I should warn you that it gets quite busy up there on a weekend so it’s probably advisable to book…also, while the service is very good it can get a little overwhelmed so be prepared for a good lunch not a quick one…the wood fired pizza’s are to die for but seeing as there is only one smallish pizza oven it can take a little time but the wait staff will let you know how long to expect when you order.

So far as is practicable the ingredients are sourced locally and of course there are vegetarian options. The entrees range from $13.50 – $19.50, the mains $23.50 – $39.50 and the desserts $12.50.

 For an entree I had the zucchini flower fritters stuffed with ricotta, lemon, herb and grana padano, (which is a rich Italian parmesan cheese) on Napoli sauce. They were delicious, not oily at all and the sauce was well-flavoured and a perfect counterpoint to the creamy filling.

MD had the local Hawkesbury squid cooked with salt and pepper, it was tender and juicy with the addition of fried whole green chillies which he loved but which were ferociously hot!

 

For mains we decided to split a pizza, (on account of MD saw one being carried past and fell in love instantly), deciding on the sopressa which had a combination of sopressa della nonna, (a tasty mild Italian salami), provolone, garlic, tomato and grana padano.This pizza would qualify without doubt as one of the best we have ever eaten, deceptively simple but with a complexity of flavours that shows the need for top quality ingredients in a dish. The base, (as you would expect), was light and crisp and the toppings were a perfect match for each other. I have dreams about this pizza…

Then we arrived at dessert, the piece de resistance of any meal if you ask me. MD wussed out, (probably because he had the lions share of the pizza), so I was left to carry the torch on my own. I picked the raspberry, white chocolate and pistachio clafoutis which managed to be light, tangy and sweet all at the same time. All up it cost us $86.20 including 3 cokes and a beer. I must also recommend from previous experience the apple cake, (made of course from locally grown apples when in season), it is really yummy!

If you would like contact details or for more information on the Apple bar this is their website: www.applebar.com.au.

I might add while I have the chance that convict stock contains completely my own views from my own experiences. I am not affiliated in any way with any of the businesses I write about, this is just my idea of fun!!

2 Comments to “Apple bar – the restaurant at the end of the universe”

  1. Once again a great story in pictures and words. I appreciate the time you are taking to explore the very cute Bilpin.
    What camera are you using? Just curious.
    keep havign fun!
    Kazren

Leave a Reply

